Leaning and Engine Performance (split topic)

How to keep the Cessna 170 flying and airworthy.

Moderators: GAHorn, Karl Towle, Bruce Fenstermacher

jrenwick

Re: Cylinders !

Post by jrenwick »

170C wrote:I am just wondering if operational methods could contribute to this problem? I lean pretty much--can you damage exhaust or intake valves by over leaning? I use 100 LL, fly it about 100 hrs annually & run it @ 2500/2600 rpms on trips. Suggestions?
I am not an expert on this, but you can find what I believe is expert advice from Electronics International, a manufacturer of electronic engine analyzers (EGT, CHT and other things displayed as a bar graph). See "The Pilot's Manual for Leaning and Diagnosing Engine Problems" at http://www.buy-ei.com/The_Pilots_Manual_by_EI.htm . Caveat: this is marketing material for their product.
They say that exhaust valve life is a function of the temperatures your engine runs at, and they recommend leaning so as to keep the sum of the two temperatures below 1825 degrees F for each cylinder, and all cylinder head temperatures below 400 degrees F. One way they recommend doing this is to lean to the point where the leanest cylinder is 100 degrees F lean of peak. Another is lean-of-peak operation, where the richest cylinder is running 30 to 80 degrees lean of peak. This is hard to do without an engine analyzer, of course. :D
As you slowly lean an engine from full rich, EGT, CHT and power output will be increasing. The first of the three to reach a peak and start decreasing is the power output, and this occurs around 100 degrees rich of peak EGT. Next the CHT peaks, and this happens around 50 degrees rich of peak EGT, depending on the engine make and model (Continental and Lycoming have published graphs for these values). It can be dangerous to run lean of the peak power point but rich of peak EGT, because that's where CHT is highest, EGT is close to peak, and exhaust valve cooling is worst.