Buyer inspection 170B problem areas

How to keep the Cessna 170 flying and airworthy.

Moderators: GAHorn, Karl Towle, Bruce Fenstermacher

alaskan99669

Buyer inspection 170B problem areas

Post by alaskan99669 »

Hello All,

First I would like to say what a great site you folks have here! There is a tremendous amount of information and you really support each other well.

I am new to the flying world (should be getting my license this month… hopefully) and have never owned an airplane. I am very interested in a ’53 170B that my instructor has recommended to me as he is very familiar with the specific plane. The owner and I are arranging for a buyers inspection in the next couple of weeks. I would very much appreciate if any of you current (or previous) owners could tell me of any problem spots that you are aware of that I should make sure the inspector does not miss.

A little history on the plane. It's in Alaska and I don't know what year it was brought up. It was repainted in ’02. Comes with the EDO 2000 floats that are put on each spring. I believe the float kit was installed 4 years ago. It also has 26” Goodyear tundra tires and skis. It has a 350 SMOH C-145. Basic radios, no transponder. It is flown regularly and looks very well maintained. Thanks!
Corey
'53 170B N3198A #25842
Floats, Tundra Tires, and Skis
GAHorn

Post by GAHorn »

Hello, Corey.
Check the the discussion on this subject which occurred under the heading "C-170B Pre-purchase Inspection" at:
http://cessna170.org/phpBB2/viewtopic.p ... inspection
'53 B-model N146YS SN:25713
50th Anniversary of Flight Model. Winner-Best Original 170B, 100th Anniversary of Flight Convention.
An originality nut (mostly) for the right reasons. ;)
AR Dave

Post by AR Dave »

Corey,