Tall pilot in a 170?

A place to relax and discuss flying topics.

Moderators: GAHorn, Karl Towle, Bruce Fenstermacher

CloudbaseEngineering

Tall pilot in a 170?

Post by CloudbaseEngineering »

Hello All,

I am still a student pilot (been on the 2 year plan with life distractions) with only my XC flights remaining. I hope to get back to flying in the next month or so to finish this up. I am currently renting a 172N. I am 6'3" tall, 230lbs and my fiance is 6'0" 150 lb or so.. I am curious if I will fit in the narrow body of the 170 and early 172/175/182. I have tried on quite few aircraft and found that I don't fit.
Taylorcraft was a tight fit, bot once in was not as bad as i thought. Tested on ground only.
Piper Pacer was a tight fit as well, but I fit better than I did in Tcart. In turbulence, I hit my head on a crossbar but with a seat position mod it may not be as much of an issue.
I tried Stinson 108 on for size but just on the ground and was surprised to find it was tight as well. and would require seat modding as well.
My shins hit a Cessna 150 panel in such a way its not an option either.

So my question is, how much different is the narrow body 170 in comparison the 172N I am renting. I fit quite comfortably in the 172N. No problem with legs and panel or Headroom. I have a good friend with a 56 172, but its in the midst of a tailwheel STC mod so the interior is not in so I cant try it myself. Also does anyone have a Cessna 170 or other narrow body cessna in the Los Angeles area that I could sit in?