Fuel gauge gaskets 1954

How to keep the Cessna 170 flying and airworthy.

Moderators: GAHorn, Karl Towle, Bruce Fenstermacher

Ddunwoody

Fuel gauge gaskets 1954

Post by Ddunwoody »

Gentleman,
I'm very new to this so forgive me if this is covered ground.
I need new fuel gauge wing tank gaskets. Cessna does not have.
In middle of an annual !
Could you help me find, buy , locate some please.
Email call or text me please.
THANK YOU!
Dru

Dunwoody@usfamily.net
612 963 8861
Bruce Fenstermacher

Re: Fuel gauge gaskets 1954

Post by Bruce Fenstermacher »

Dru there are sources of these which don't come to mind. Do a search and you should come up with those.

One of the sources of course is cutting them yourself out of readily available gasket material. I've taken the time to create a template that you could download and print then use to cut your own making this simple, fast and CHEAP. If I recall the price of the gaskets and whether your doing one or two tanks, you would save the cost ($45) of membership to the TIC170A which is required before you can get these and other things from our maintenance library.

I only mention this membership thing because your forum records don't indicate you are a member. If you are email or PM me with your member number and we'll set you up here as a member and then you can get the templates and get on with your annual.
CAUTION - My forum posts may be worth what you paid for them!

Bruce Fenstermacher, Past President, TIC170A
Email: brucefenster at gmail.com
GAHorn

Post by GAHorn »

Hello, Dru!
As we discussed on the phone, the gaskets, as well as the gauges are made by Rochester who made the originals for Scott and who also still make similar gauges and are sold thru Aircraft Spruce 877-477-7823: ROCHESTER GAuge 05-16700 ,
ROCHESTER GASKET, Spruce PN 15-4, for less than $4.
They also handle new-style floats which are more durable in modern fuels : ROCHESTER RPLCMNT FUEL FLOAT 05-03395 ...